Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Fundraiser – Toronto

I’ll be attending this event tomorrow.  If you’re in the Toronto area, please come out and donate.  I know this is a little last minute.  There will be people speaking from Fukushima that were there when all of this happened.  Even if you can’t make it, register and donate.

Here’s the link to the facebook event

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=199667286721234

This is the link to the website.

http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/event?llr=scv8rpdab&oeidk=a07e3lkv0k056d3dd5f

Here’s a quote from the website.

Join us as Jason Ishida, resident English Teacher in Fukushima City, tells us about his personal experiences during the earthquake & tsunami, and shares stories of the tragedy and hardships that nearly half a million Japanese are experiencing.

Eric Chan, an English Teacher who lived in Yuriage, Miyagi, Japan will share his heart-wrenching story of the town where he was living (that has virtually been wiped away by the tsunami), and of his friends & students who were not so fortunate in escaping the massive wave that hit the town with only 20 minutes notice!

The President of the Japanese Canadian Cultural Ctr. (JCCC), Gary Kawaguchi, will also be present to explain how your donations to the Japan Disaster Relief Fund will greatly benefit the survivors.

Here is a personal message from Jason …

My name is Jason Ishida and I’m an English teacher in Fukushima City, Japan. I have returned to Canada temporarily for fear of exposure to radiation and scarcity of food and water.

I’m now focusing my efforts on raising money for the people of Japan who have been devastated by the 9.0 earthquake. Nearly 23,000 people are dead or missing and about half a MILLION people have been left without homes.

It was very hard for me to leave my friends and co-workers in Fukushima, many without running water and very little food. But I realized I’m in a very unique position and have my own role to play.

I hope to raise awareness in Canada and urge people to donate to help a country in a tragic time of need. I’m looking for people who are willing to go out of their way to help a devastated nation. This is the first of many fundraising events so plan to join us!

Thanks so much for your time.

PS: We would appreciate donations of any kind to support us in our efforts. Obviously financial support is most needed, but if you can organize collections at work, or even direct donations to charities – any contribution would be appreciated.

Sincerely, Jason Ishida

The Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre, Jason Ishida, Eric Chan, and all those affected by this tragedy, would like to thank you in advance for your participation.

Please ask your friends & family to come out as well.

 

If you’re looking for other places to donate, I’ve compiled a list in the about me section.  Check it out.  I myself just donated to this as well as 2 other charities and right now, I don’t even have a job, so, if you’re reading this and you have a spare, 5, 10 of 20 dollars, toss it to one of these charities.

B

One thought on “Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Fundraiser – Toronto

Leave a Reply

