Quakebook

 

After the earthquake, a blogger and former editor came up with an idea to have short articles published about the earthquake and to publish a quake book with all proceeds going to the Japanese Red Cross.  Time was of the essence and I wrote a short piece that I didn’t consider very good at the time and still have issues with.  Being a history major, writing 400 words max on the 7 days that had passed was pretty much impossible.  I just tried to be honest and tell the story of what I was doing, what the people of Fukushima were doing and how there was a silver lining to it all.  That people are good and people in the time of crisis help each other.  Since then I have re-written the article and it’s much better now, but somehow, my original edit made it in.  I hope these guys are gods when it comes to editing.  Anyway, I just found out that I made the cut and I’m in the book that is still searching for a publisher.  Anyway, here are the links.  I’m off to the Fundraiser in Toronto that I blogged about yesterday.  Show up if you’re in the area.  Or just go to the website and donate.

http://quakebook.blogspot.com/

Our man in Abiko : Original post http://ourmaninabiko.blogspot.com/2011/03/japan-earthquake-get-writing-now.html

Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Fundraiser: http://bit.ly/fundforjapan

Leave a Reply

