Just call me Kanata Man

About a week ago, there was a second article about me in a local paper here in Kanata. Both articles refer to me as “Kanata man” which is a bit strange seeing as I’m from Hamilton, but hey, it’s where I live, so I guess it makes sense.

My short brush with the media while attempting to shed more light on Quakebook in Canada has been an interesting one and the learning curve for dealing with reporters is pretty steep. The first article printed on me in the Ottawa Citizen was less than stellar, if I do say so myself.  Granted, I didn’t give the reporter much to go with and was angry with Western media at that point, so I it only makes sense that my quotes make me sound like a Neanderthal.  Given all of this, I was a bit nervous when I saw a comment on my About page asking me to get in contact with the poster.  I was even more nervous when I first looked at the article and noticed how much quoting there was.  My written thoughts are much better than the incoherent garbage that normally flows freely from my mouth.  As anyone reading this, who knows me personally can attest to.  But I’m relatively pleased with this latest article.  While I think it puts me in a spotlight that is a bit too bright for what my actions.  I’m happy that I didn’t come across like a complete idiot in my second go around with the media.

Through all of this, I have a new found respect for the people in Fukushima that did interviews live, with everything that was going on around them.  I just stood outside, smoked cigarettes and drank coffee while ranting into the phone about Japan and Quakebook.  With print media, they can take your quotes out of context and that’s a scary thing, but at least you know that for the most part, they won’t make you sound like a complete tool.  With all this being said, here’s the second article.  It’s been about a week since it came out, as I’m not the hugest fan of posting things that contain me as the focus, especially the day after they come out.  The last thing I want is for someone to read the article, then follow to my blog and see a post about the article they just read.  Feel free to offer feedback in the comments below.

Kanata man contributes to book on Japanese earthquake

Oh and I really really wish he had actually referred to OurManInAbiko, as OurManInAbiko not “he.”

B

Leave a Reply

